PDA

View Full Version : *retarded question* Virgin Media and BT at the same time


Moses
20-08-2020, 22:02
Currently have Virgin Media fibre. Presumably there's no problem getting BT fibre installed and the services overlapping by a month (hopefully less than that) given they use completely different infrastructure?

Want to switch but as I'm working from home I can't really afford to have a gap.

Can get Full Fibre 900 :wank:.

Malcolm Tucker
20-08-2020, 22:38
Somebody who has to ask this doesn't deserve 900mb download speeds.

Moses
21-08-2020, 11:36
:dolefrog:

Might go for poverty spec 300mb as wtf could I ever use anything faster for at the moment?

Oswald
23-08-2020, 02:02
tldr ´
who cares
life is over, we are fucked, student debt, no life, no future

Chuckles
28-08-2020, 12:22
That would be fine - they use different infrastructure.

ChemicalKicks
28-08-2020, 21:12
VM offering fuck all decent over here at the moment, think the fastest is 500, I've 200 at the moment can't think of anything I do that requires more. SAD

Moses
29-08-2020, 21:40
That would be fine - they use different infrastructure.

Thanks :thumbs:.

VM offering fuck all decent over here at the moment, think the fastest is 500, I've 200 at the moment can't think of anything I do that requires more. SAD

Think I can get 1000 with Virgin but you need to get it as part of a package. 500 if I get nothing else. Currently have 200 and it's fine... rang about cancelling and they'd reduce my current (introductory) rate by £1/month and keep that for 18 months. But it's a fucking awful deal considering I can just get 300 from BT with free installation and get their introductory rate on top of cash back.

ChemicalKicks
29-08-2020, 22:12
I don't know what it's like over the water, but in NI VM is rock solid, rarely downtime, I've never had a problem. When I was BT the speeds were shit.

If they can give you 300 and they're reliable then I'm jealous!

ChemicalKicks
29-08-2020, 22:13
We didn't get any if the super fast fibre shit over here. Fastest from BT is 70ish

It's VM or nothing basically

Visage
29-08-2020, 23:49
Asked work yesterday if I could get FTTP as Im probably going to go permanent WFH.

And, to my surprise, they didnt tell me to fuck off. If I can get an install cost of under 3k they'll do it.

Moses
30-08-2020, 00:06
I don't know what it's like over the water, but in NI VM is rock solid, rarely downtime, I've never had a problem. When I was BT the speeds were shit.

If they can give you 300 and they're reliable then I'm jealous!

BT can give me 900 so I assume the 300 package will be reliable :iamfat:.

Moses
30-08-2020, 00:07
Asked work yesterday if I could get FTTP as Im probably going to go permanent WFH.

And, to my surprise, they didnt tell me to fuck off. If I can get an install cost of under 3k they'll do it.

No chance of BT/Virgin doing your street?

Visage
30-08-2020, 00:10
Virgin are too unreliable. And my ADSL is only about 25Mbit.

But yeah, BT are an option. It's basically business broadband, except they'll have to lay a cable from the nearest cabinet to my house. Only about 100m though.

Chuckles
30-08-2020, 09:06
Virgin unreliable generally or just round your way? I've been WFH for about 2 years and I can only remember 1 outage for about 4 hours.

Visage
30-08-2020, 10:32
Round here. Seems to be weekly outages.